What is International Development?

Learn / What Is International Development

Watch the video to see highlights of the 2015 Sustainable Development Summit, where 193 countries formally adopted the 17 Sustainable Development Goals

International Development is the pursuit of a better world for all through the elimination of poverty, discrimination and injustice.

Worldwide, the most common framework to understand International Development is found in the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals.

In September 2015, world leaders met in New York for the UN Sustainable Development Summit. At that Summit, the world leaders officially adopted 17 Sustainable Development Goals – signifying a new era of partnership and collaboration to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all.

17 Sustainable Development Goals

What are the Sustainable Development Goals?

The 17 Sustainable Development Goals are:

  1. No Poverty
  2. Zero Hunger
  3. Good Health & Well-Being
  4. Quality Education
  5. Gender Equality
  6. Clean Water & Sanitation
  7. Affordable and Clean Energy
  8. Decent Work and Economic Growth
  9. Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure
  10. Reduced Inequalities
  11. Sustainable Cities and Communities
  12. Responsible Consumption and Production
  13. Climate Action
  14. Life Below Water
  15. Life On Land
  16. Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions
  17. Partnerships For The Goals.

Learn more about the Sustainable Development Goals

Learn more about the Sustainable Development Goals here:


Back to top

Give Feedback